essai_web

Nadège Grebmeier Forget, Lustrer (moodboard), 2022. Courtesy of the artist.

pour ce qui brille, minutie / for that which shines, minutiae

Nadège Grebmeier Forget

Exhibition

The opening of the exhibitions will take place on April 6 from 7 to 11PM in the presence of the artists.

Music by DJ Rodrigo Medrano

Free admission
Cash bar
Free parking

Book your tickets here.

In her individual exhibition pour ce qui brille, minutie / for that which shines, minutiae, presented at AXENÉO7, Nadège Grebmeier Forget displays the materialization of her performative gestures that led to a colossal image production. This resulted in photographic reproductions the size of advertisement posters that are placed directly on the floor. The images become surfaces of execution and exhibition for other realizations using the logic of accumulation and detour. The set-ups are supported by piles of magazines and overhung with familiar elements in the artist's iconography. This horizontal mounting reduces the physical distance between viewers and the works, and thereby underscores the desire to come closer.

The Jean-Pierre Latour space is permeated with the Nadège Grebmeier Forget's absence, between reality and appearance. The room's vast windowed walls are partially covered with a pink semi-opaque film and bedecked with makeup. Bearing an accumulation of fingerprints, this shimmering façade becomes a screen revealing a tension between interiority and exteriority. This visual build-up refers to ulterior performances that the artist carried out in front of mirrors. As viewers, we look at ourselves through the embodiment of her gestures, in a simulated porosity that recalls the artist's body. The metaphorical language of the fabricated or performed — choreographies — , the disproportion of the applied or explosive actions, and finally the evocation of closeness are expressed in each of the works.

Carried out from 2020 to 2022 during the Autorésidences program, an AXENÉO7 pandemic response initiative, Grebmeier Forget's most recent productions trigger various shockwaves. These primarily pictorial propositions inspired by her previous projects transgress commonplace notions of canonical feminine beauty, fundamental to her performative practice — and of self-representation. They foreground the detrimental imbalances of the exploitative objectification and overrepresentation of women in the media as well as the prejudices they give rise to. The pages of fashion magazines, which the artist accumulates in an almost obsessional manner, serve as her canvas. The faces of the photographed models become paintings to be (re)painted to be made up (again).  After selecting images, she manipulates or scans then prints them. These are considered by the artist as ready-made: pixelated, unprocessed and uncropped. The artist excessively defaces the chosen and reproduced models by erasing their features with solvent. Next, she smears layers of make-up by applying it impetuously with her fingers on the degraded faces, thereby turning them into deformed anatomies resembling bits of bizarre motley flesh. The models become paintings to be (re)painted — to be (re)made up. This results in a persistent imagery of overlapping shapes superimposed into simultaneously alarming and attractive corporalities. The interventions embodied by way of visual referents impart the images with tensions and sensations. Evocations of her own body. The shimmering bodily presence of the artist is fully sensed in the material body of work.

For over ten years, Nadège Grebmeier Forget has been proposing a performative (in)occupation by way of her (in)direct presence resulting from an over-presentation and overconsumption of her image, without any economy of attention turned towards herself. Her body, shown in fragments made accessible during performative (in)actions, is put into circulation in a controlled manner through specific contexts such as on the Internet (notably by way of social media) via live streams. Her material, her fragmentary body, clashes with images lifted from fashion magazines, from photographs of iconic celebrities or camgirl style self-portraits taken from her personal archives. During these live interventions drawing on choreography and accompanying burlesquotechno sounds, the artist out-re-plays the perception of her own image in an exaggerated manner. At once an unruly teen and self-assured woman, she rouses our interest through the intensity of her actions both in the immediacy of her public performances and in the inaccessibility of her camera and thus transports us into another reality of unexpected brutality. She intentionally stages herself — in the nude — before viewers or Internet users. Public intimacy. A screened private life. She shines in front of us. She beguiles us through the interface of her personality, moves us through the impulsivity of her gestures. Our attention turns towards her. The nonchalant artist metamorphoses before our eyes — live or in pre-recorded mode. Our gaze is captivated in the instantaneity of her striking corporality. Grebmeier Forget reveals herself in a multitude of inspirations, between homage and outrage. 

Nadège Grebmeier Forget's practice covers a range of genuine concerns, notably ones related to the initial rise of Body Art and Feminist Art in the late 1960s, in which  women's bodies were the vector of protest gestures. Characterized by a self-assured femininity and taking various stands — i.e. liberation, demands, subversion, seduction and temptation — against the sexist oppression inherent in a patriarchy, Grebmeier Forget mobilizes the principles of feminist resistance. Her incisive and provocative actions point the finger at the idealization discourses that contribute to the contempt and degradation of women. She thus uses the power of her body and expands its boundaries. The historical and temporal dimensions are interwoven to denounce coercive systems, beauty archetypes and stereotypes, and sexualized generalizations. 

pour ce qui brille, minutie / for that which shines, minutiae awakens persistent sensations that animate and stimulate the gaze and our sensitivity. Through this proposition in which the feminine body is (re)signified into new canons, Nadège Grebmeier Forget leaves us with the sensible marks of a captivating consciousness of a history of women, of her own history. 

— Jean-Michel Quirion

Nadège Grebmeier Forget is engaged in the arts milieu as an interdisciplinary artist, project coordinator, creative consultant and artistic director. Primarily known for her durational, live, streamed, and private performances, over the course of her projects, she has mobilized a critical reflection on this medium by questioning its presentation devices, issues pertaining to its documentation, and its dissemination potential. Her work draws on the vocabulary of various feminisms, while her own body and personal psyche acts as observation, research and transformation mediums. She has participated in many arts events, festivals, talks and residencies in Canada as well as in Europe and the US. Her most recent works were presented at Bradley Ertaskiran, Projet Casa and Fonderie Darling, Montréal (2020), Critical Distance, Toronto (2018), Astérides — la Friche la Belle of Mai, Marseille, France (2016), She Works Flexible — Flex Space, Houston (2016), VU PHOTO/Mois Multi, Quebec City (2016). Texts about her work have been published in the proceedings of the colloquium La performance: Un espace de visibilité pour les femmes artistes ? by AWARE: Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions (Paris), the scientific journal Recherches féministes, the MOMUS online publication and the magazines Vie des arts, Spirale, esse arts + opinions and ELLE Québec. She is the first performance artist to receive the Prix Pierre-Ayot de la Ville de Montréal (2019), awarded in partnership with the Association des galeries d'art contemporain (AGAC).

Website

Acknowledgements

Roxanne Arsenault
Natacha Chamko
Julie Cusson
Emili Dufour
Marlène Ferrari
Michelle Lacombe
Charles Martel
Caroline Savaria
Michel Séguin
Douglas Scholes
Anne-Marie St-Jean Aubre

Adam Basanta
Lucile Godet
Catherine Lescarbeau
M.A. Marleau
David Paquin
Jean-Michel Quirion

Atelier CLARK
Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec
Gauvin Henman Inc.
L’imprimerie, centre d’artistes
MFBB Inc.
Centre SAGAMIE
Atelier M Séguin

Partners

essai_web

Nadège Grebmeier Forget, Luster (moodboard), 2022. Courtoisie de l’artiste.

pour ce qui brille, minutie / for that which shines, minutiae

Nadège Grebmeier Forget

Exposition

Le vernissage des expositions aura lieu le 6 avril de 19 h à 23 h en présence des artistes.

Musique par Dj Rodrigo Medrano

Entrée libre
Bar payant
Stationnement gratuit

Réservez vos places en cliquant ici.

Dans son exposition individuelle pour ce qui brille, minutie / for that which shines, minutiae, présentée à AXENÉO7, Nadège Grebmeier Forget montre la matérialisation de ses gestes performatifs menant à une production massive d’images. Il s’agit de reproductions photographiques aux dimensions d’affiches publicitaires positionnées à même le sol. Les images deviennent des surfaces d’exécution et d’exhibition pour d’autres réalisations utilisant les logiques d’accumulation et de détournement. Les dispositifs sont supportés par des piles de revues et surplombés d’éléments propres à l’iconographie de l’artiste. La mise en place des œuvres à l’horizontale accentue le désir de rapprochement, diminuant l’écart physique entre les visiteur.euse.s et celles-ci. 

L’espace de la salle Jean-Pierre Latour est habité par l’absence de Nadège Grebmeier Forget, entre l’être et le paraître. Les immenses parois fenestrées de la salle, partiellement tapissées d’une pellicule rose semi-opaque, sont chamarrées de maquillage. Cette façade miroitante sur laquelle les empreintes de doigts s’accumulent devient un écran qui met en évidence une tension entre l’intériorité et l’extériorité. Cette démultiplication visuelle réfère à des performances ultérieures exécutées par l’artiste devant des miroirs. En tant que visiteur.euse.s, nous nous regardons à travers l’incarnation de ses gestes, dans une porosité simulée qui rappelle le corps de l’artiste. Le langage métaphorique des propositions façonnées ou performées — chorégraphiées —, la disproportion des actions appliquées ou éclatées, puis l’évocation de la proximité s’expriment dans chacune des œuvres. 

Diverses ondes de choc émanent des plus récentes productions de Grebmeier Forget, réalisées de 2020 à 2022 pendant le programme des Autorésidences, initiative pandémique d’AXENÉO7. Essentiellement picturales, les propositions inspirées de ses précédents projets transgressent les idées reçues de la beauté canonique et de la féminité, fondamentales à sa pratique performative — et d’autoreprésentation. Celles-ci mettent en évidence les déséquilibres malsains de l’objectification et de la surreprésentation instrumentalisée des femmes dans les médias ainsi que les préjugés qui y sont associés. L’artiste utilise comme canevas des pages de magazines de mode qu’elle accumule de façon quasi obsessionnelle. Après avoir sélectionné des images, elle les manipule ou les numérise, pour ensuite les imprimer. Celles-ci sont considérées par l’artiste comme des ready-made : pixélisés, non-traités et non-recadrés. Grebmeier Forget défigure à outrance les modèles choisis et reproduits en effaçant leurs traits avec du dissolvant. Subséquemment, elle enduit sur les visages dégrimés des couches de maquillage appliquées impétueusement avec les doigts pour en faire des anatomies déformées, sortes de parcelles charnelles bigarrées, biscornues. Les visages des modèles deviennent des tableaux à (re)peindre — à (re)maquiller. Cette imagerie de formes qui s’entrecroisent et se superposent en des corporalités tant accablantes qu’attirantes est rémanente. Les interventions incarnées par des référents visuels imprègnent les images de tensions et de sensations. Évocations de son corps. La présence corporelle scintillante de l’artiste est pleinement ressentie dans ce corpus matériel. 

Depuis plus d’une décennie, Nadège Grebmeier Forget propose une (in)occupation performative par sa présence (in)directe résultant d’une surreprésentation et de la surconsommation de son image, sans économie d’une attention portée sur elle-même. Son corps, montré en fragments dans l’accès lors d’(in)actions performatives, est mis en circulation de façon contrôlée à travers des contextes spécifiques comme sur Internet (au moyen des réseaux sociaux nommément) via des live streams. Sa matière, son corps parcellaire, s’entrechoque à des images usurpées de magazines de mode, à des clichés de célébrités iconiques ou à des autoportraits à la camgirl issus de ses archives personnelles. Lors de ces interventions live relevant de la chorégraphie, au son de tonalités burlesquotechno, l’artiste dé-re-joue avec exagération la perception de sa propre image. Adolescente indisciplinée et femme assumée à la fois, elle nous stimule par l’intensité de ses actions tant dans l’immédiateté de ses performances publiques que dans l’inaccessibilité de sa caméra, et nous transporte dans une réalité autre à la brutalité insoupçonnée. Elle se met délibérément en scène — à nu — devant les spectateur.ice.s ou les internautes. Intimité publique. Vie privée écranique. Elle brille face à nous. Elle nous enjôle par l’interface de sa personnalité, nous anime par l’impulsivité de sa gestuelle. Notre attention est portée sur elle. L’artiste désinvolte se métamorphose devant nous — en direct ou en différé. Notre regard reste captivé dans l’instantanéité de sa corporalité saisissante. Grebmeier Forget se dévoile dans une accumulation d’inspirations, entre hommage et outrage. 

La pratique de Nadège Grebmeier Forget est traversée de considérations véritables référant notamment aux premières manifestations du Body Art et du Feminist Art, vers la fin des années 1960, où le corps des femmes est vecteur de gestes contestataires. Marquée par une féminité assumée et des prises de position — émancipation, revendication, subversion, séduction et tentation — à l’encontre de l’oppression sexiste inhérente à une société patriarcale, Grebmeier Forget utilise les principes de la résistance féministe. Ses actions percutantes et provocantes mettent en accusation les discours d’idéalisation qui participent au mépris et à la dégradation des femmes. Elle se sert ainsi de son corps en puissance, et repousse les limites physiques de celui-ci. Les historicités et les temporalités s’imbriquent afin de dénoncer des systèmes coercitifs, des archétypes et des stéréotypes de beauté, et des généralisations sexualisées. 

pour ce qui brille, minutie / for that which shines, minutiae sollicite des sensations persistantes qui animent et stimulent le regard et le ressenti. Par cette proposition dans laquelle le corps féminin est (re)signifié en de nouveaux canons, Nadège Grebmeier Forget laisse des marques sensibles d’une conscience saisissante d’une histoire des femmes, de sa propre histoire.

— Jean-Michel Quirion

Nadège Grebmeier Forget évolue dans le milieu de l'art actuel en tant qu'artiste interdisciplinaire, coordonnatrice de projets, conseillère en création et directrice artistique. Mieux connue pour ses performances de longue durée, en direct et en privé, elle construit au fil des projets une réflexion critique sur ce médium en interrogeant ses dispositifs de présentation, les enjeux de sa documentation et le potentiel de sa médiation. Son travail puise dans le vocabulaire des féminismes, son propre corps et sa psyché personnelle agissant comme médiums d’observation, de recherche et de transformation. Elle a pris part à de nombreux événements, festivals, conférences et résidences aussi bien au Canada qu'en Europe et aux Etats-Unis. Ses œuvres les plus récentes ont été présentées à Bradley Ertaskiran, Projet Casa et Fonderie Darling, Montréal (2020), Critical Distance, Toronto (2018), Astérides — Friche la Belle de Mai, Marseille, France (2016), She Works Flexible — Flex Space, Houston (2016), VU PHOTO/Mois Multi, Ville de Québec (2016). Des écrits sur son travail ont été publiés dans les actes de colloques La performance : Un espace de visibilité pour les femmes artistes ? d’AWARE: Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions (Paris), le journal scientifique Recherches féministes, la publication en ligne MOMUS et les revues Vie des arts, Spirale, esse arts + opinions et ELLE Québec*. Elle est la première artiste de performance à recevoir le Prix Pierre-Ayot de la Ville de Montréal (2019), décerné en partenariat avec l’Association des galeries d’art contemporain (AGAC).

Site Internet

Remerciements

Roxanne Arsenault
Natacha Chamko
Julie Cusson
Emili Dufour
Marlène Ferrari
Michelle Lacombe
Charles Martel
Caroline Savaria
Michel Séguin
Douglas Scholes
Anne-Marie St-Jean Aubre

Adam Basanta
Lucile Godet
Catherine Lescarbeau
M.A. Marleau
David Paquin
Jean-Michel Quirion

Atelier CLARK
Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec
Gauvin Henman Inc.
L’imprimerie, centre d’artistes
MFBB Inc.
Centre SAGAMIE
Atelier M Séguin

Partenaires