basanta_web

Adam Basanta, Fountain (may 2020), 2020.
Condom, hemp, bottle cap, arugula.
Courtesy of the artist.

Fontaine

Adam Basanta

Exhibition

The opening of the exhibitions will take place on April 6 from 7 to 11PM in the presence of the artists.

Music by DJ Rodrigo Medrano

Free admission
Cash bar
Free parking

Book your tickets here.

Out of the blue, it is he

Vision to me, bearing leaves

Petals green, covers me in all my shame

— PJ Harvey, lyrics from Fountain (Dry, 1992)

From such a gentle thing, from such a fountain of all delight, my every pain is born.

— Michaelangelo

Fountains — etymologically meaning source or spring, from the latin root “fons” — have been features of human settlements since the bronze-age. Even in antiquity, decorative reservoirs distributed water for populations of early city-states. The urban equivalents of ancient wells, fountains became central gathering places: a location to collect precious drinking water, bathe, and relax. At the same time, these architectural features, designed and financed by ruling elites, function as material reminders of centralized power and the dynamics and responsibilities between social hierarchies.

Advancements in engineering allowed fountains to take advantage of gravity and hydrostatic pressure: water-flow could now burst vertically from the fountainhead, momentarily escaping gravity. A fountain exhibits magical abundance, an endless bubbling source of life and prosperity. Metaphors for fertility, growth, sexuality, and leisure develop further alongside increasingly elaborate sculptural ornamentation.

As modernity approaches, the symbolism of fountains overtakes their original function. Water is no longer accessible for visitors to collect, as they would possess this resource at home. Instead, water becomes an object for aesthetic contemplation, a vehicle through which to visualize control over natural elements, a material with which to explore the human imagination and build powerful narratives.  

In these histories, the fountain becomes a lens through which to trace humanity’s ongoing relationship with water, functional design and aesthetics, power and luxury. It is both a projection of symbolic understanding and a resilient reification of such value systems.

What values would a contemporary North American fountain uphold? Water is seemingly limitless and easily available, and simultaneously, a vital agricultural resource in short global supply. In the developed world, it is an affordable luxury for gardens, outdoor activities, sports and enjoyment; elsewhere, it is a cause for anti-privatization protests or war. Water is easily contained in plastic receptacles, which themselves become part of an increasingly distressed oceanic ecosystem as they are discarded. 

Fountain presents several improvisational scenarios, each reflecting on these inextricable relationships between water, disposable plastic, agriculture, and leisure; the relationships between human design and irrepressible natural processes. They are unlikely monuments temporarily assembled for no one in particular, performing cycles of inevitable decay and necessary regrowth.

— Adam Basanta

Born in Tel-Aviv (Israel) and raised in Vancouver (Canada), Adam Basanta has lived and worked in Montreal since 2010. Originally studying contemporary music composition, he has developed an artistic practice in mixed-media installations.

Since 2015, his works have been exhibited in galleries and institutions including the Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (MBAM, Canada), WRO Biennale (Poland), Fotomuseum Winterthur (Switzerland), Cité Internationale des Arts (France), Arsenal Art Contemporain (Canada), Galerie Charlot (France), iMAL (Belgium), National Art Centre, Tokyo (Japan), Moscow Biennale for Young Art (Russia), Carroll/Fletcher Gallery (United-Kingdom), American Medium Gallery (United States of America), Serralves Museum (Portugal), Edith-Russ-Haus für Medienkunst (Germany), York Art Gallery (United-Kingdom), and The Center for Contemporary Arts, Santa Fe (United States of America).

His installations have been awarded prizes in Canada: Prix Pierre Ayot (2019), Sobey Art Award Longlist (2018, 2020), and internationally: Japan Media Arts Prize (2016), Aesthetica Art Prize (2017). He is represented in Canada by Ellephant Gallery (Montreal). His work can be found in the institutional collections of the Musée d’art contemporain de Montreal (MACM), Montreal Fine Arts Museum, the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (MNBAQ), the Ville de Montréal, and several corporate collections.

Partners

basanta_web

Adam Basanta, Fontaine (may 2020), 2020.
Préservatif, chanvre, bouchon de bouteille, roquette.
Courtoisie de l'artiste.

Fontaine

Adam Basanta

Exposition

Le vernissage des expositions aura lieu le 6 avril de 19 h à 23 h en présence des artistes.

Musique par Dj Rodrigo Medrano

Entrée libre
Bar payant
Stationnement gratuit

Réservez vos places en cliquant ici.

Out of the blue, it is he

Vision to me, bearing leaves

Petals green, covers me in all my shame

— PJ Harvey, paroles de Fountain (Dry, 1992)

D'une chose si douce, d'une telle fontaine de tous les délices, toutes mes douleurs sont nées.    

— Michel-Ange

Les fontaines — dont l'étymologie signifie source, dérivée de la racine latine « fons » — ont été des caractéristiques de l'établissement humain depuis l'âge du bronze. Même dans l'Antiquité, des réservoirs décoratifs distribuaient l'eau aux populations des premières cités-États.  Équivalents urbains des puits antiques, les fontaines sont devenues des lieux de rassemblement essentiels : un endroit pour recueillir la précieuse eau potable, se baigner et se détendre. En même temps, ces attraits architecturaux, conçus et financés par les élites dirigeantes, fonctionnent comme des rappels matériels du pouvoir centralisé et des dynamiques et responsabilités entre les hiérarchies sociales.

Les progrès de l'ingénierie ont permis aux fontaines de bénéficier de la gravité et de la pression hydrostatique : l'eau pouvait désormais jaillir verticalement de la source, échappant momentanément à la gravité. Une fontaine manifeste une abondance magique, une source inépuisable et bouillonnante de vie et de prospérité. Les métaphores de la fertilité, de la croissance, de la sexualité et des loisirs se développent parallèlement à une ornementation sculpturale de plus en plus élaborée.

À l'approche de la modernité, le symbolisme des fontaines prend le pas sur leur fonction première. L'eau de la fontaine n'est plus un besoin pour les visiteurs, qui ont dorénavant un accès domestique à cette ressource. L'eau devient un objet de contemplation esthétique, un véhicule qui permet de visualiser le contrôle des éléments naturels, un matériau avec lequel on peut explorer l'imagination humaine et construire des récits puissants.

Dans ces histoires, la fontaine devient un prisme à travers lequel on peut retracer la relation permanente de l'humanité avec l'eau, la conception fonctionnelle et l'esthétique, le pouvoir et le luxe. Elle est à la fois une projection de la compréhension symbolique et une réification résiliente de ces systèmes de valeurs.

De quelles valeurs une fontaine nord-américaine contemporaine se porterait-elle garante ? L'eau est apparemment illimitée et facilement disponible, et en même temps, une ressource agricole vitale dont l'approvisionnement mondial est limité. Dans le monde développé, elle est un luxe abordable pour l'arrosage des jardins, les activités de plein air, les sports et le plaisir ; ailleurs, elle est une cause de contestations anti-privatisation ou de guerre. L'eau est facilement contenue dans des récipients en plastique qui, lorsqu'ils sont jetés, font eux-mêmes partie d'un écosystème océanique de plus en plus perturbé.

Fontaine présente plusieurs scénarios d'improvisation, chacun réfléchissant à ces relations inextricables entre l'eau, le plastique jetable, l'agriculture et les loisirs ; les relations entre la construction anthropique et les processus naturels irrépressibles. Il s'agit de monuments improbables assemblés temporairement pour personne en particulier, qui exécutent des cycles de décomposition inévitable et de régénération nécessaire.

— Adam Basanta

Né à Tel-Aviv (Israël) et élevé à Vancouver (Canada), Adam Basanta vit et travaille à Montréal depuis 2010. Ayant originalement étudié en composition de musique contemporaine, il a par la suite développé une pratique artistique en installations multi-médiatiques.

Depuis 2015, son travail a été exposé dans des galeries et institutions incluant le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (MBAM, Canada), WRO Biennale (Pologne), Fotomuseum Winterthur (Suisse), Cité Internationale des Arts (France), Arsenal Art Contemporain (Canada), Galerie Charlot (France), iMAL (Belgique), National Art Centre, Tokyo (Japon), Moscow Biennale for Young Art (Russie), Carroll/Fletcher Gallery (Royaume-Unis), American Medium Gallery (États-Unis), Serralves Museum (Portugal), Edith-Russ-Haus für Medienkunst (Allemagne), York Art Gallery (Royaume-Unis), and The Center for Contemporary Arts, Santa Fe (États-Unis).

Ses installations ont été récompensées par des prix au Canada : Prix Pierre Ayot (2019), Prix Sobey pour les Arts, liste longue (2018, 2020), et internationalement : Japan Media Arts Prize (2016), Aesthetica Art Prize (2017). Il est représenté au Canada par Ellephant Gallery (Montréal). Ses œuvres font partie des collections institutionnelles du Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal (MACM), du musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (MBAM), du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (MNBAQ), de la Ville de Montréal, et de plusieurs collections d'entreprises.

Partenaires