image-doux

siesta blue

doux soft club

Exhibition

The exhibition siesta blue — doux soft club (Pénélope Bourgeois, Chloë Baril-chassé, Marion Paquette and Mariane Stratis), as well as the activation / performance of the exhibition, are presented as part of the biennial PERF (Ré) — activation.

Part of the creation and production of this work has been made possible with the support of Verticale — centre d’artiste, 2018-19 programming.

The word “siesta ” comes to us from Spanish, and designates the sixth hour of the day — when everyone would take a moment together to rest.

siesta blue aims to be a material representation of this temporal interval dedicated to rest, thanks to an immense, protean, silky-soft carpet of a pastel blue shade that subtly reminds one of the sky. The carpet, an object which evokes new meanings and functions, is punctuated with malleable, interactive and varying forms that can be subsequently added and removed through a choreography of gestures. It thus evolves into a collaborative performance piece.

Through the iteration and reactivation of the previous project undertaken thanks to the artist centre Verticale, the doux soft club proposes the installation of this domestic object in a public space. AXENÉO7 supplies that space with one of its galleries, which little by little becomes a physical and symbolic — poetic — space within which the (de)construction of this majestic carpet takes place. This performative siesta encourages a moment of daydreaming and introspection through silent and meticulous movements. Its oneiric shapes, like colourful geometric clouds, fall apart and reshape themselves individually or collectively by the four entities of the club as well as instantaneous formal interventions. The visual voluptuousness produced by the bodies that move through the space modifies the visitors’ perception of the later and contributes to gently encourage interactions with the visitor-spectators. Gradually, all the detachable pieces of this carpet move, accumulate, disappear, and glide against each other in a delicate allegory of relaxation. 

— Jean-Michel Quirion

The doux soft club is a collective of artist-curators gathering the artistic practices of the duo pénélope and chloë, Marion Paquette and Mariane Stratis. The four artists met while pursuing their undergrad degree in Visual and Media Arts at the Université du Québec à Montréal (2012). It is through many exchanges and the desire to see their practices evolve together, that was born doux soft club (2017). The poetry and sculptural aspect of their respective work is their rallying point. The club is a flexible structure that leads to engaged collaborations: an effort to better share, exchange and influence each other’s practice. Driven by a desire for cohesion, the doux soft club sees as essential the “rapprochement" of plural visions.

projetsiestablue.com
penelopeetchloe.com
marianestratis.com
marionpaquette.com

Partners

image-doux

siesta blue

doux soft club

Exposition
Performance

L’exposition siesta blue du doux soft club (Pénélope Bourgeois, Chloë Baril-chassé, Marion Paquette et Mariane Stratis), ainsi que la performance d’activation de l’installation sont présentées dans le cadre de la biennale PERF (Ré) — activation.

Une partie de la création et de la production de cette oeuvre a été rendue possible grâce au soutien de Verticale — centre d'artiste, programmation 2018-2019.

Le mot sieste provient de l’espagnol « siesta » qui définit la sixième heure du jour — moment auquel ce temps de repos est communément pris.

siesta blue s’avère une représentation matérielle de cet intervalle temporel voué au repos, et ce, au moyen d’un immense tapis protéiforme au poil soyeux d’un bleu pastel qui rappel avec subtilité la couleur du ciel. Le tapis, objet d’évocation par de nouvelles significations et fonctions, est ponctué de formes malléables, praticables et variables à ajouter ou retirer aléatoirement par le biais de gestes chorégraphiés. Il évolue ainsi en un dispositif performatif et collaboratif.

Pour l’itération et la réactivation du projet précédemment entamé par le biais du centre d’artistes Verticale, le doux soft club propose le déploiement de cet objet domestique dans un lieu public ; celui de l’une des galeries d’AXENÉO7 qui, tour à tour, devient un espace physique et symbolique — poétique — servant d’assise à la (dé)construction du tapis majestueux. Cette siesta performative incite momentanément à la rêverie et à l’introspection par des mouvements méticuleux et silencieux. Les formes oniriques, sortes de nuages géométriques colorés, se décomposent et se recomposent individuellement ou collectivement par les quatre entités du club en des interventions formelles instantanées. La volupté visuelle engendrée par les corps qui arpentent l’espace modifie la perception de celui-ci et l’investit en entraînant, tout en douceur, des interactions avec les visiteurs — spectateurs. Graduellement, les pièces détachables du tapis se déplacent, s’accumulent, se dissimulent et se glissent les unes contre les autres en une délicate allégorie de la détente.

— Jean-Michel Quirion

Le doux soft club est un collectif d’artistes-commissaires rassemblant les pratiques artistiques du duo pénélope et chloë (pénélope bourgeois et chloë baril-chassé), marion paquette et mariane stratis. Les quatre artistes se sont rencontrés au baccalauréat en arts visuels et médiatiques à l’Université du Québec à Montréal (2012). C’est à travers de nombreux échanges et le désir de voir évoluer leurs pratiques ensemble, qu’est né doux soft club (2017). La poésie et l’aspect sculptural de leur travail respectif sont leur point de ralliement. Le club est une structure souple qui mène à des collaborations complices pour mieux partager, échanger, s’influencer. Animé par un désir de cohésion, le doux soft club voit comme essentiel le rapprochement des visions plurielles.

projetsiestablue.com
penelopeetchloe.com
marianestratis.com
marionpaquette.com

Partenaires