axeneo7_perf_banniere-web-04

Horizons

Hélène Lefebvre

Performance

Hélène Lefebvre's performance Horizons is presented at La Filature.

Inhabited by darkness since the lockdown, I measure the borders of the void reaching out to the other in search of the now strange familiar. With my eyes open, my idle gaze does not know how to focus but rather merely senses the light. And yet, my breath assesses distance, trying to open up the space and perceive an experience of the human from nature.

Based in Ottawa, Canada, Hélène Lefebvre’s practice is an inquiry into identity and alterity, all the while weaving links between visual art, culture, and society. The body in movement and sensorial active listening (epicentre of performance action) have been a sustained interest of hers for over ten years. Recently, her work has taken the form of performance, installation and video. Her practice in corporeality takes inspiration from studies in visual art, contemporary dance, and authentic movement, a form in which improvisation is central.

Hélène has presented her work at a number of exhibitions and performances in Canada (Ontario, Québec and Nova Scotia), Europe, Latin America and Asia-Pacific. She has received grants from the Canada Council for the Arts, the Ontario Arts Council and the City of Ottawa.

Partners

2021_lefebvre_lorange_03

Horizons

Hélène Lefebvre

Performance

La performance Horizons d'Hélène Lefebvre est présentée dans les espaces de La Filature.

Habitée par la noirceur depuis le confinement, je mesure les frontières du vide à la rencontre de lautre, en quête du familier devenu étrange. Les yeux ouverts, mon regard inactif ne sait pas faire la mise au point, se concentrant seulement sur la lumière. Mon souffle, en revanche, évalue les distances, tente d’ouvrir l’espace, de percevoir une expérience de l’humain à partir de la nature.

Basée à Ottawa, Hélène Lefebvre mène une pratique artistique où elle s’intéresse aux questions d’identité et d’altérité, à la frontière des arts visuels, de la culture et de la société. Depuis plus de dix ans, elle s’intéresse plus particulièrement au corps en mouvement et à l’écoute sensorielle active (fondement de l’art de la performance). Récemment, ses œuvres ont pris la forme de performances, d’installations et de vidéo. Sa pratique corporelle s’inspire de ses études en arts visuels et en danse contemporaine, ainsi que de la technique du mouvement authentique, où l’improvisation joue un rôle central.

Elle a présenté de nombreuses expositions et performances au Canada (en Ontario, au Québec et en Nouvelle-Écosse), en Europe, en Amérique Latine et en Asie-Pacifique. Elle est boursière du Conseil des arts du Canada, du Conseil des arts de l’Ontario et de la Ville d’Ottawa.

Photos de la performance

Partenaires