axeneo7_perf_banniere-web-02

citius, altius, fortius

Didier Morelli

Performance

Didier Morelli's performance citius, altius, fortius is presented at La Filature.

The cancellation of the 2020 Tokyo Summer Olympics, a greatly anticipated quadrennial sporting event, left athletes around the globe in limbo. Similar to artists, for whom self-isolation can be a necessity for creative production, amateur Olympic athletes are familiar with rituals and rhythms of confined and focused living. However, in these unusual times, both artists and athletes found themselves unable to access the resources that make their craft possible: studios/training centers, stadiums/gallery venues, workout equipment/art materials, training camps/residencies.

My performance takes inspiration from Larry Miller’s Flux Olympics (1970), a series of unusually modified, aestheticized, and impossible track and field events held at Rutgers University by members of the Fluxus art movement. Generating performative interventions using sculptural, makeshift athletic equipment and apparel, I propose a collection of physical games and events held under the unfolding circumstances of our pandemic. Repurposing everyday objects to perform “outstanding” physical achievements that critically review Canada’s material history in relationship to the Olympics, the project builds upon my ongoing research on the intersections between moving bodies in athletics and culture.

Didier Morelli is an artist and art critic who lives and works in Montreal/Tiohtiá:ke. His practice and theoretical interests include the cultural and social intersections between visual and performance art. He holds a PhD in performance studies from the School of Communication, Northwestern University in Chicago, IL. His research project explores the relationship between the built environment and the kinesthetic nature of performing bodies in New York and Los Angeles between 1970 and 1985. He was the New York correspondent for esse arts + opinions from 2018-2020 and became a member of the editorial board in 2021. His writing has been featured in ESPACE, Border Crossings, Ciel Variable, Canadian Theatre Review, Art Journal and TDR: The Drama Review among others.

Partners

2021_morelli_lorange_01

citius, altius, fortius

Didier Morelli

Performance

La performance citius, altius, fortius de Didier Morelli est présentée dans les espaces de La Filature.

L'annulation des Jeux olympiques d'été de Tokyo en 2020, un événement sportif quadriennal très attendu, a laissé les athlètes du monde entier dans l'incertitude. À l'instar des artistes, pour qui l'auto-isolement peut être une nécessité pour la production créative, les athlètes olympiques amateurs sont familiers des rituels et des rythmes de vie confinés et concentrés. Cependant, en cette période inhabituelle, les artistes comme les athlètes se sont trouvés dans l'impossibilité d'accéder aux ressources qui rendent leur art possible : studios/centres d'entraînement, stades/galeries, équipements d'entraînement/matériel artistique, camps d'entraînement/résidences.

Ma performance s'inspire des Flux Olympics (1970) de Larry Miller, une série d'épreuves d'athlétisme inhabituellement modifiées, esthétisées et impossibles, organisées à l'Université Rutgers par les membres du mouvement artistique Fluxus. En générant des interventions performatives à l'aide d'équipements et de vêtements athlétiques sculpturaux et improvisés, je propose une collection de jeux et d'événements physiques organisés dans les circonstances actuelles de notre pandémie. En réutilisant des objets du quotidien pour performer des réalisations physiques « exceptionnelles » qui examinent de manière critique l'histoire matérielle du Canada en relation avec les Jeux olympiques, le projet s'appuie sur mes recherches en cours sur les intersections entre les corps en mouvement dans le domaine de l'athlétisme et de la culture.

Didier Morelli est un artiste et critique d’art qui vit et travaille à Montréal/Tiohtiá:ke. En pratique comme en théorie, il s’intéresse aux intersections culturelles et sociales entre l’art visuel et la performance. Il détient un doctorat en Performance Studies de la School of Communication, Northwestern University à Chicago, IL. Son projet de recherche examine la relation entre l’environnement construit et la nature kinesthésique des corps performants à New York et Los Angeles entre 1970 et 1985. Il a occupé la fonction de correspondant new-yorkais pour esse arts + opinions de 2018 à 2020 et il est devenu membre du comité de rédaction en 2021. Ses écrits ont été publiés dans les revues ESPACE, Border Crossings, Ciel Variable, Canadian Theatre Review, Art Journal et TDR : The Drama Review, entre autres.

Photos de la performance

Partenaires