nezaket-ekici

Nezaket Ekici

PERF (Ré)activation

Residency
Artist talk

Salon des membres, La Filature

Performance

Connected/Connecté, Alexandra Bridge — Gatineau / Ottawa

AXENÉO7 welcomes Nezaket Ekici (Berlin, Germany) in collaboration with Articule (Montreal), for a research and creation residency at AXENÉO7, as part of the biennial PERF (Ré)activation, following her performance at VIVA! Art Action (Montreal) and her studio at Studio 303 (Montreal).

Born in Turkey in 1970, Nezaket Ekici has lived in Germany since 1973. She holds an MA in Art Pedagogy and, has studied Art History and Sculpture at the LMU and Fine Arts Academy Munich. She studied Performance Art under Marina Abramovic at the Braunschweig University of Art, where she also received an MFA Degree.

Ekici’s artworks derive from multiple subjects, including everyday situations, her dual-cultural background, and art history. Her confrontations with the ordinary allow her to explore the social and cultural atmospheres in which she operates. These confrontations are then translated and expressed as performances, installations and video art. The subjects she deals with are related to time, movement, space, material, body, action and interaction. She uses her body as a means of expression and investigation, and always keeps her works in relation to the audience. She has presented more than 200 different performances in four continents and over 50 countries.

ekici-art.de

Partners

nezaket-ekici

Nezaket Ekici

PERF (Ré)activation

Résidence
Présentation d'artiste

Salon des membres de La Filature

Performance

Connected/Connecté, Pont Alexandra — Gatineau / Ottawa

Le Centre d’artistes AXENÉO7, en collaboration avec Articule (Montréal), accueille l’artiste Nezaket Ekici (Berlin, Allemagne), en résidence de recherche et de création, dans le cadre de la biennale PERF (Ré)activation, de suite à sa performance à VIVA! Art Action (Montréal) et son atelier au Studio 303 (Montréal).

Née en 1970 en Turquie, Nezaket Ekici vit en Allemagne depuis 1973. Titulaire d’une maîtrise en pédagogie de l’art, elle a étudié l’histoire de l’art et la sculpture à la LMU et à la Fine Arts Academy de Munich. Elle a étudié la performance avec Marina Abramovic à la Braunschweig University of Art, où elle a reçu sa maîtrise en beaux-arts.

Les œuvres d’Ekici traitent de nombreux sujets, notamment des situations de la vie quotidienne, de sa double culture et d’histoire de l’art. Ces confrontations avec l’ordinaire permettent à Ekici d’explorer les atmosphères sociales et culturelles dans lesquelles elle évolue. Elles sont ensuite traduites et exprimées sous forme de performances, d’installations et d’art vidéo. Les sujets abordés sont liés au temps, aux mouvements, à l’espace, à la matière, au corps, à l’action et à l’interaction. Elle utilise son corps comme moyen d’expression et d’investigation, et garde toujours ses œuvres en contexte avec le public. Elle a présenté plus de 200 spectacles différents, sur quatre continents et dans plus de 50 pays.

ekici-art.de

Partenaires